You Can’t Free Me

You tell me it’s great to be free
Sing songs about this land of liberty
But you don’t have the power to break my chains
My freedom rests in my own two hands

Gender, orientation, and abortion
You say we should have the right to choose
But you try to force dreams inside my head
Try to make me win your game, but I’m gonna lose

I don’t care if gay people get married
I don’t care if rednecks want the right to carry
You should do you and I will do me
So stop trying to tell me what I should be

You put the money in my hands
Selling me the American Dream
But when I’ve looked at my future
That’s not the sight I’ve seen

“Do what you want and don’t hurt no one”
There’s no decision that you can make alone
Every raindrop that falls affects the Earth
Every tear others cry for you pays for your curse

 

Leave a comment