Oceans Away

My girl used to hold my hand

She used to be here next to me

But she’s not my girl any longer

No, she’s gone back over the sea

My girl was warm like the summer

Like the beaches where she was from

She bubbled and laughed like the waves

That crash, in the ocean outside of her home

My girl was a wonderful dancer

She moved with such grace and ease

We’d spin on the floor to the music

That flew in from outside on the breeze

My girl laughed like the seagulls

Sailing up high in the wind

Shouting for all to listen

What her face always said with a grin

Yes my girl used to lay there beside me

All nestled up into the sand

We’d watch the waves and chat

All the day, we had a lovely time and

Now she’s gone over the water

This wonderful girl has gone home 

We used to hold hands by the ocean

But now I’m just holding my own

Leave a comment