Relationship Blogs

I’ve read a thousand blogs and poems
About what true love means
And though I’ve tasted on my tongue
Many people’s hopes and dreams
Still I find myself here again
Reading what others have gleaned

The mirror sees me day by day
My lips, my hair, my eyes
But night by night I change my face
To match another’s sight
The taste on my uncertain tongue
Depends on what they like

Yes though I know what man I am
Still there’s an “ought to be”
By you, by them, by God and kings
I am what others see
If only I could show to you
The person that is me

My darlings I have loved you all
Each one my heart did melt
With love just like a fairytale
But fickle as an elf
Through every flame I often fanned
I did not love myself

So I flick through paragraphs
That tell me who to be
Lawyer or fighter, father or friend
An angel or a fiend
When what I really need to know
Is how to just be me

Leave a comment